Aww, how cute (image by Cooksta7575)

When I went vegan, I had to give up thinks like marshmallows, jello, most gummy candies, gum, mints and other gelly things, as gelatin is produced with nasty animal byproducts like cow and pig bones and skin. Yuck!

 I don’t really miss any of that stuff, except maybe the occasional s’more, which now requires me ordering vegan mallows online (which I don’t do, because, I am lazy).

Recently, I read about a new method of making gelatin, reported by the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemisty. Apparently Scientists are now working on developing human-based gelatin, as they realize that the animal-based variety can carry infectious diseases.

According to the press release, the scientists developed and demonstrated a method where human gelatin genes are inserted into a strain of yeast, which can produce gelatin with controllable features. The researchers are still testing the human-yeast gelatin to see how well it compares to other gelatins in terms of its viscosity and other attributes.

I find this to be pretty disgusting—recently someone asked if I would eat “meat” made in a Petri dish. While Petri-meat and human-based gelatin may not contribute to the slaughtering of animals—which is a step in the right direction—it is still weirdly unnatural, and I am still going to stay away from it.

Any opinions on this weird Franken-gel? How about Petri-meat? Would you eat it, vegan or not?

Read More →